What you need:

Modpodge and a small brush, scissors, tissue paper, magazines, jars with lids (Big jar is a spaghetti sauce jar, and the small jar contained artichoke hearts)

What you do:

I like to brush a thin layer of modpodge on the edges of the jar and cover with thin layers of tissue paper. I then trace around an image and use that for the top, and another one for the bottom. You can customize your jar by putting images and phrases that are meaningful to you. Paint thin layers of modpodge to seal it, which makes it shiny. Try to get as many wrinkles out as you can–you can see (especially in the big one) where I didn’t really do this well.

This big one contains all my buttons. The top is the Great Smoky Mountains, and the bottom of the lid are some hydrangeas from Southern Living. The small one’s text says “When Mama’s happy” and the bottom of this one says “Family Ties.”


They make GREAT, EASY gifts for people. I am thinking of putting photos on them as well. I have an amazingly talented friend Jenna Lee who uses ticket stubs, as well as different layers of resin to make these jar lids into coasters with a 3-D effect. Pretty amazing!

